The Lovely Bones

I picked up a copy of Alice Sebold’s book The Lovely Bones while waiting for my flight in an airport, three years ago.  I’m the kind of person who cannot survive flights or even the shortest layovers without at least one (usually two) books crammed in my carry-on, and buying books in airports has become an absurdly thrilling experience for me because I have NEVER picked a loser.   The Lovely Bones was one of my all-time great selections (A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius was the other).

If you haven’t read TLB, for heaven’s sake be careful: the opening chapters are harrowing.  I’m a gorehound, and they made me squirm in my (tiny airplane) seat.  The rest of the book is enchanting: dark, bittersweet, sometimes extraordinarily inspiring, but never dull.  The book is so good that I am willing to forgive the last bit, where Sebold jumps the shark to give the reader some closure.

Anywhozie, the movie adaptation of this wonderful book has been in development for the past couple years, and I’m pretty much living to see it on the big screen.  Peter Jackson is directing.  And here’s the kid who will play the doomed heroine, Susie Salmon: Saoirse Ronan.

saoirse-ronan.jpg

This child is in Atonement (which you should see and read, if you get a chance), and I think she is extraordinary.  Artless, and unlike so many child actors, a child who looks and acts like a child, not like a self-endeared, pretentious brat.  She’s an intriguing little actress, not least of all because of her physical presence: gawky yet graceful (again, like  a  real child), and possessed of a strange assortment of features that add up to a completely unexpected beauty. 

The cast of TLB is, overall, looking pretty damn sweet.  Stanley Tucci plays the serial killer who murders Susie Salmon, and my boyfriend Mark Wahlberg plays Susie’s father. 

All I’m sayin’ is, if any idiots try to run commentary or talk on cell phones during this particular movie, I will go completely ghetto on them.  Wouldn’t be the first time. 

~ by lewdandlascivious on February 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Lovely Bones”

  1. All I’m sayin’ is, if any idiots try to run commentary or talk on cell phones during this particular movie, I will go completely ghetto on them. Wouldn’t be the first time.

    There is nothing more beautiful than watching you go all ghetto to enforce old-fashioned manners and civility. 🙂

  2. Hahaha, kind of “ironical,” I know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
