Indulging my inner dork, once again.

So, Order of the Phoenix is hitting theaters tomorrow, and Deathly Hallows is out right before I take this bastard test.  Everyone thinks Harry is doomed: he has to die, they say.  He has to.

I disagree.  First of all, I give J.K. Rowling more credit.  Harry dying is the obvious conclusion; one encouraged by decades of movie indoctrination teaching us that a character like Harry must die.  I must give props to the public for grasping the veiled true identity of the Potter series as a tragedy—not a comedy, not a love story, not harmless childrens’ entertainment, but a bona fide tragedy.  But yo, I think everyone is wrong.

Here’s my prediction: I’m sure I’ll look like a damn fool when the book comes out, but whatever—here it is.

What’s always made Harry special was that he was guarded by love.  Although Harry is skilled in Defense Against the Dark Arts via his unusual level of experience in battle, it’s been regularly acknowledged that he has only escaped Voldemort’s assassination attempts because he is loved.  What made him special and the subject matter of the famous Voldemort prophecy in the first place was not some prodigious skill in wizardry, but Voldemort’s mistake; i.e., underestimating the mystical force of love Harry’s mother had for her baby. 

My personal opinion has always been that only Voldemort can kill Voldemort.  Like any evil creature, he is the source of his own destruction and his doom will be self-induced (however it is channeled).  I am not sure who will die in the final installation, but I’m betting on Neville being one of the casualties.  I think Neville’s connection to Harry—Neville being the only other child who could be the subject of the prophecy—is a major hint that Neville’s fate is inextricably tied to Harry’s.  I think Neville and at least one other major character will die protecting Harry (my bet is Ginny), and their love and sacrifice will cause Voldemort’s final death curse on Harry to rebound (just like before) and kill Voldemort. The cycle will be complete, and the basic principles will be protected; i.e.,  love is the most powerful magic, and evil defeats itself through its own strategems.

Of course, there remains the matter of the Horcruxes—if Harry’s scar is a Horcrux, he might have to sacrifice himself.  I hope not.  I really, really don’t want Harry to die.

~ by lewdandlascivious on July 10, 2007.

14 Responses to “Indulging my inner dork, once again.”

  1. You are a far bigger nerd than I ever gave you credit for 🙂

  2. BTW still waiting for you to post those graduation pictures

  3. Haha, thanks! I’m all about some HP.
    I don’t think I have any pics, strangely–my parents probably do. The Pachyderm might too–Theo, did you take any pics at graduation? Holla!

  4. Actually, I predict a more major death: Hermione or Ron.

    While we’re talking about Weasleys: Percy becomes far more sinister

  5. I hate to think of Ron or Hermione dying, but you’re prolly right. I don’t think Hagrid is major enough–whoever we lose, it’s gonna hurt.
    Oh, and good call on the Percy thing–I have no idea what she’s going to do with that character but it should be interesting.

  6. Oohhh – I ditto the good call on Percy.

    No, didn’t take pictures, but I found some on the website, including those of the lovely Queen of Swords.

  7. Ooooo I don’t want any pics of me up.

  8. “Ooooo I don’t want any pics of me up.”

    Oh, so you make no protest when you assume no one has the pictures, but now you won’t indulge us.

    Heck if you post yours I’ll post mine. I just found my old law school graduation pictures the other day.

  9. “Heck if you post yours I’ll post mine.”

    Something about that doesn’t sound quite right…hmmm.

  10. ::Snort laughing:::

    I’ll send you the pics, JK, if I can find them. 🙂

    I don’t think that Harry’s scar is a Horcrux because one has to deliberately create it and put himself in it, right? Voldemort thought he was killing Harry, not making a Horcrux, right?

    Harry & Voldemort carry wands with a tail feather of the same phoenix. Would not be surprised if the phoenix were a horcrux – which would be ingenious, really, as the things are bloody hard to destroy.

  11. Ooo good thought.

  12. Thank you. 🙂

    Can you see it – phoenix dies, Voldemort is mortal – wait, it’s assembling again – he’s immortal – okay, we killed him, now let’s nail Voldemort before he rises from his own ashes….

  13. Oh, and I forgot to mention: I think bodies will be falling right and left. A ton of people are gonna die, I think–but there will be at least 2 or 3 who are major, major characters. I’m hoping either Ron or Hermione will be spared, with Ginny dying instead, but I fear I will be disappointed.

  14. yes.. No, didn’t take pictures http://www.yehhu.net

Leave a Reply

 
