There Can Be Only One

Freddie Mercury = the best male rock vocalist of all time, period.  And yes, that includes everyone.  He was the best.  The voice tailor-made to rock the faces off stadiums of people; the only voice adequate to chronicle the drama of the Highlander.  Supreme rock star, and gay as dad’s old hatband: R.I.P., Freddie.

My other fave?  Steve Perry, without a doubt.  Here’s Journey performing “Girl Can’t Help It” live in 1986 (my favorite Journey song). . .That’s American Idol’s Randy Jackson playing bass, by the way:

~ by lewdandlascivious on July 6, 2007.

3 Responses to “There Can Be Only One”

  1. “Freddie Mercury = the best male rock vocalist of all time, period. And yes, that includes everyone.”

    No way, my choice, Blackie Lawless. The guy is amazing. Too bad I can’t listen to their music anymore. Well it isn’t too bad at all. I enjoy something far greater now. 🙂

  2. Hahaha! W.A.S.P.–now there’s a blast from the past. His voice is pretty extraordinary. A really good singer.
    My #3 best of all time is James Hetfield from Metallica–I can’t believe I didn’t include him originally, my brothers would be ashamed of me!

    It’s sad what’s happened to rock and roll: thinking of these guys (and so many others) makes it so clear that we don’t have good rock bands anymore. The stuff now is utter shite.

  3. “It’s sad what’s happened to rock and roll: thinking of these guys (and so many others) makes it so clear that we don’t have good rock bands anymore. The stuff now is utter shite.”

    Makes it even easier to walk away and never regret not listening to the stuff anymore. ;-). I loved that stuff when I was 17, and as far as quality it was awesome, too bad spiritually is was pure junk (if not poison).

Leave a Reply

 
