Good for Them!

This news is a few weeks old, but in case you hadn’t heard, John Ramsey and Beth Holloway Twitty are dating.  Ramsey is the father of JonBenet Ramsey, and Twitty is Natalie Holloway’s mom.

I haven’t trolled the blogs to see the wider response to this, but all I’ve heard from people around me is the opinion that these two dating is “creepy” or “weird.”  I couldn’t disagree more.

John Ramsey and his wife Patsy (who died last June of ovarian cancer) were the victims of a campaign by police and media who were determined to blame them for the murder of their daughter, in spite of the complete lack of evidence against them and what we know about sexual homicides like JonBenet’s (as extensive study has shown, parents simply do not kill their children in this way).  Ramsey, who already had lost an adult daughter in a car accident, is a good man and did not hurt anyone: I can’t imagine the pain he’s gone through.

I can see how two people who have suffered the same kind of loss might come together and have a unique bond.  I hope they both can find happiness and peace in their lives, whether it’s as a couple or not.

~ by lewdandlascivious on June 21, 2007.

6 Responses to “Good for Them!”

  1. The one thing about JonBenet is that there was something off about that family. It could be her mom who had pushed her into all of those pageants, but there was still something weird.

    If that weren’t part of the picture, I would completely agree – it amkes sense for them to have a mutual bond (not just of losing a child, but of having the national media hone in on you).

  2. I disagree about the family—in general kiddie pageants are very weird, but the mom had been in pageants so it’s not out of nowhere. And a mom having her kid in pageants hardly implies any sort of sexual weirdness or potential violence, although most of us question the judgment of dressing up/making up children that way. By all accounts, JonBenet loved doing it and her mom was into it with her–it was their thing, not Mr. Ramsey’s.

  3. Yes – the weirdness was probably confined to Mrs. Ramsey.

    I don’t have a problem with kiddie pageants; what I do object to is how JonBenet was made up to look like a twenty-something.

  4. Oh, totally. In this day and age, how can any parent think it’s a good idea to create a pedophile’s wet dream?

  5. I just shudder at the memory of her photos. The vengeful side of me likes to think that there is a special place in hell for people who do things to children.

  6. oh my goodness! This one totally went by me. I had no clue. I can say that they have both been through pretty extreme circumstances that very few could understand… especially with both having unsolved tragedies.

    I have to agree with Briget in that I can’t deal with the pageant thing and something seemed off. But it is a long way from that point to them being capable of doing something like that to their daughter.

Leave a Reply

 
