Dubya, You Lost Me At “Hola”

I hate to do this, because I’ve always loved and supported the Dubs, even when he was less than perfect.  But his disgraceful support of the amnesty bill before Congress, and his disdain for the concerns of supporters and fellow conservatives, is a betrayal to this country.  As a result, I no longer support the President’s leadership. 

If Bush is going to jump on the bandwagon and let millions of law-breaking, unskilled, non-English-speaking, parasitic Mexicans flood this country—most of whom clearly don’t give a rat’s ass about our laws, language, or culture and who are using the U.S. as (in the words of a friend) an ATM—I fail to see why he bothers to fight the Islamofascist hordes.  What are we fighting for? 

Whatever else it does, the most basic function of a federal government is to protect our nation’s borders.   Bush has just surrendered them to people who have already demonstrated that they have no respect for the law and no intention to assimilate.  Therefore, unless he changes direction on this important issue, he’s lost my support.   Congratulations, Dubya: you just lost your base.   

~ by lewdandlascivious on May 31, 2007.

9 Responses to “Dubya, You Lost Me At “Hola””

  1. Ditto that.

  2. Totally agree. I think it’s all about paving the way for the North American Union.

  3. This world is so insane, I’m getting to the point where nothing would surprise me.

    I want my dream house, NOW (big house in mountains with lots of guns and only people I like). 🙂

  4. I disagree strongly. I’ll expand more this weekend. All I will say now is actually read the report and long live Dubs!

  5. By report I mean the proposed bill

  6. I’m gone and never coming back. BTW I’ve read the report.

  7. Here is what Alabama Senator Jeff Sessions had to say about the bill on May 23:

    It is clear the people who drafted this legislation had an agenda and the agenda was not to meet the expectations of the American people.

    The agenda was to create a facade and appearance of enforcement, an appearance of toughness in some instances.

    When you get into the meat of the provisions and get into the bill and study it, tucked away here and there are laws that eviscerate and eliminate the real effectiveness of those provisions. It was carefully done and deliberately done. This is a bill that should not become law.

    It is a bill that will come back to be an embarrassment to our Members who have supported it. I wish it were not so. I know how these things happen. You do not always have time to do everything you want to do. You try to do something you think is right, but ultimately in a bill as important as this one that has tremendous impact on the future of our country and our legal system and our commitment to the rule of law, we ought to get it right. We ought not to let this one slide by. It is not acceptable to say, let’s just pass something and we will send it to the House and maybe the House of Representatives will stand up and stop it and fix it. That is not acceptable for the great Senate of the United States.

  8. Here’s my initial rebuttal: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MiSwqaQ4VbA&mode=related&search=

  9. Cute. Yeah I remember that too–it happened on my birthday.
    I just do not agree that surrendering our national sovereignty and borders, not to mention national character and language, is an acceptable tradeoff for generally good performance in the war on terror. There are some transient things I’m willing to suck it up and take for the sake of the WOT: Dubya’s spending sprees, for one. But this amnesty bill–and his absolute refusal to listen to the people who got him elected (his base, and most of the rest of the country too)–tips the balance too far.

Leave a Reply

 
