Woo, Pig Sooie!

Can this possibly be for real?  An 11-year-old Alabama kid claims to have killed this behemoth pig while hunting with his dad and two guides: the hog reportedly weighs 1,051 pounds.

huge-hog.jpg 

Normally, I would look at such a picture on the Internet and immediately call shenanigans, but the story was posted by Breitbart and The Drudge Report, which as far as I know do not disseminate urban legends or blatantly false stories.

But yo.  That hog is bigger than most grizzly bears.  And supposedly, this kid killed it with eight rounds from a .50 caliber pistol, over a 3-hour chase through the woods.  I need to run it by my dad and brothers (they’re expert hunters, whereas I couldn’t shoot a squirrel unless I was starving), but this seems a little weird to me. 

First of all, who hunts with guides in the American southeast?  It’s not Africa.  And who gives their 11-year-old a .50 caliber handgun to hunt with?  First of all, I guess I’m a purist, and see handgun hunters as wusses who can’t handle a bow or rifle like a real sportsman.  I might be wrong on that: like I said, I’m gonna run it past the boys.  But it just seems like a shady way to hunt. . . for men.  For boys, it’s a little sick (and keep in mind I LOVE guns).  A .50 caliber gun is a lot of firepower: maybe a little extreme for an 11-year-old?  Propped on a tripod on a truck in Iraq, blasting terrorists: yes.  But placed in the hands of a prepubescent child on a pig hunt in Alabama.  No. 

The whole story is bizarre. 

~ by lewdandlascivious on May 25, 2007.

4 Responses to “Woo, Pig Sooie!”

  1. It can’t be real. I mean, it just can’t!

  2. I know, that’s what I said! But I think it is. What kind of convinced me was the part of the article discussing the slaughter of the pig–all the meat they got from it–and the taxidermy. If the head is mounted, it will be obvious if it’s fake or not.
    Is that some cwazy shit or WHAT?

  3. […] a post I saw at QueenofSwords with back up here. The story is this 11 y/o whacks super hog. Click either link and catch a glimpse […]

  4. […] my earlier post, I expressed disapproval of and skepticism towards people who would require guides to hunt in […]

Leave a Reply

 
