Want A Good Scare?

The Q.O.S. is a bit under the weather today (upset stomach) and taking a break from unpacking by watching some horror movies.  As I might’ve mentioned, I’m something of a horror movie aficionado.  My position on the genre is that very few horror movies are truly scary, and that even in the truly scary ones there needs to be a dose of cheese.  Perhaps this is why the 70’s and 80’s produced–by far–the best horror films ever made: those decades were naturally cheesy.  In general terms, this is how I feel it should be calibrated: the lower the fear factor, the higher the cheese factor.

Anyway, here are some of my recommendations if you’re ever in the mood for some shivers:

*  Alice, Sweet Alice (a young Brooke Shields falls prey in the first reel to a seriously creepy kid)

*  The Haunting of Julia (starring Mia Farrow.  My absolute favorite ghost story of all time–but very hard to find)

*  The Eyes of Laura Mars (Faye Dunaway plays a clairvoyant fashion photographer who sees murders through the eyes of the killer.  A theme much abused and overdone in subsequent  years, but never done as well as here.)

*  Black Christmas (Olivia Hussey and Margot Kidder play sorority sisters stalked by a never-unmasked killer.  One of the best horror movies ever made, and the originator of many conventional tools of the trade. . .”killer cam,” etc.).

*  Prom Night (talk about cheese! Jamie Lee Curtis classic featuring–and I’m 100% serious here, no exaggerating–the BEST dance scene ever captured on film. Disco, baby!).  Fabulous.

That ought to get you started.  I have loads more if anyone is interested.

P.S.  Yes, I know I’m a dork. 

~ by lewdandlascivious on May 22, 2007.

4 Responses to “Want A Good Scare?”

  1. I can barely make it through Watcher In the Woods.

  2. “watching some horror movies”

    I know. You already told us you watched the Leo DiCaprio Horror flick. lol.

  3. TT you are a hot mess!
    Kelly, that movie was SO CREEPY–and it was a Disney movie!! I need to get that on DVD…thanks for reminding me of it.

  4. Yeah, I picked it up last year because my husband had never seen it. Ducky from NCIS is the father! Bette Davis is so deliciously creepy, she embodies the “scary old crone.”

Leave a Reply

 
