Sorry Newt, It Just Doesn’t Wash

Newt Gingrich is a pompous asshole.  He now admits that he was having an extramarital affair while leading efforts to impeach Clinton over the Monica Lewinsky nightmare.  Get a load of the explanation he offered during an interview with James Dobson:

“There are times that I have fallen short of my own standards. There’s certainly times when I’ve fallen short of God’s standards. . . .[Clinton] got in trouble for committing a felony [perjury and obstruction of justice] in front of a sitting federal judge. . . .I drew a line in my mind that said, ‘Even though I run the risk of being deeply embarrassed, and even though at a purely personal level I am not rendering judgment on another human being, as a leader of the government trying to uphold the rule of law, I have no choice except to move forward and say that you cannot accept … perjury in your highest officials.”

A couple disclaimers before I address his comments: 

(1)  I’m not going to merely accuse Gingrich of being a hypocrite.  In fact, I consider the hypocrite charge the weakest evidence of bad character, because everyone who purports to believe in any ideal is, due to their status as a human being, a hypocrite.

(2)  I am no fan of Bill Clinton; never have been, never will be.  I think he’s a sleazemongering pathological liar with a lot of charm, a misused genius IQ, and not much else. 

Now that that’s out of the way, I now realize why I have instinctively distrusted Newt Gingrich all these years.  First of all, did you catch how Clintonian his justification to Dobson was?  He “drew a line in his mind” that made it OK for him to destroy Clinton for doing precisely what he was doing at that very moment.  Whatever.  Anyone who thinks Gingrich was lobbying for Clinton’s impeachment strictly out of a purist’s devotion to the law, needs to get real.  Does anyone think for one second that the nation would’ve been dragged through that long national nightmare if Clinton had taken a piece of someone’s mail (which is also a felony, punishable up to 5 years in prison)? 

Hell no.  What happened was that Gingrich and the Gang saw their only real chance to take Clinton down and they seized it. Instead of focusing strictly on the morality of Clinton’s actions and letting the American people decide for themselves how to feel about it, they attempted to tie it to a perjury charge so they could wrangle a way to undo Clinton’s electoral victories (which is precisely what the Democrats are trying to do to the Bush Administration now).

Remember all Newt’s talk about family values and morality and fidelity?  Well, all that time Gingrich was cheating on his wife (his second wife: he divorced his first wife as she lay in a hospital bed, fighting cancer).  He is now divorced from his second wife and has moved on to his third; to wit, the slut he was banging on the side during Monicagate (and yes, she is indeed a slut–just because she’s married to him now doesn’t make her respectable in the slightest).

What a sleazeball.  In my opinion, this is just a blatant attempt to get out in front of the inevitable scandal, should he decide to run for the Republican presidential nomination.  Blech.  I wouldn’t vote for him clean my toilet, much less be my President.  And boo on any conservative who justifies his shadiness.   

~ by lewdandlascivious on March 9, 2007.

8 Responses to “Sorry Newt, It Just Doesn’t Wash”

  1. Yeah, I am with you all the way on this one. I haven’t heard or read the entire interview yet, but I am curious to hear what Dr. Dobson has to say about all this.

  2. Well, I’ll give you this, it’s always a fun and interesting read around here.

    I read this to my dear wife, and when I got to “the slut he was banging on the side”, I edited your words to “the lady he met during”.

    I hope you don’t mind.

    =;-)~

  3. ps Newt’s another genius with a penchant for self delusion. A shame, really.

  4. Haha! Don’t mind at all. I have a potty mouth sometimes!

  5. Excellent post! Newt always irked me and I couldn’t explain why.

  6. LOL – Hank the real-time editor!

    I remember hearing Newt speak in the mid-90’s and thought, “Wow, this guy could be President someday.” He has way too much baggage now, though. Too bad he couldn’t control himself.

  7. (Elepehant snort) I happen to adore the “slut he was banging on the side” line.

    Never was a Newt fan… now that he’s done a Bill, can’t he do a John Kerry and NOT run in ’08 because it will ultimately hurt the party?

  8. Well boo to me then. I don’t want Newt to be President, but I wan’t him to run. All of his faults aside, he is the smartest and most articulate conservative voice out there. By being involved in the process he will force the McCains, Rudys, and Romneys in the race to tow the line or be exposed. Deep down, I think this is the role he intends to fill, he knows he is not a realistic candidate. So he’s a necessary evil who knows he’ll be cast to the side when the time has come. Its like John Kerry and poor people, he keeps them around because they served him a purpose, but deep but deep down we all know he couldn’t care less about them.

Leave a Reply

 
